Twenty Abington Students Honored for National Merit and Hispanic Scholar Accomplishments

At the School Board meeting this week, the Board, Mr. Berrios, and Mr. Tagliaferro were pleased to present and recognize 20 Abington Senior High School students for their accomplishments in the National Merit Scholarship Program for 2017 based on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) and the National Merit Scholar Qualifying Test (NMSQT). 

The Board honored as National Merit Commended Students: William Abel, Leah Barbacane, Eileen Burner, Samantha Gable, Clara LaBrake, Ryan Lancaster, Andrew Nolan, Abigail Serridge, Aleksandr Sherstyuk, Peter Van Buren, Margaret Wermeling, Hunter West, and Maya Wills.

Selected by the National Merit Scholarship Program and honored by the Board as SemiFinalists were:  Margaret Davis, Roni Fishbein, and Lillian Sall, who now are considered for Finalist status. 

Selected and named as Scholars or Honorable Mentions in the 2017 National Hispanic Scholar Recognition Program and honored by the Board were:  Nicholas Cerdera, Alan Garcia, and Hunter West. 

Lastly, every year several outstanding students, such as Emily Elson, are considered as a candidate for Special Scholarships provided by corporations and business organizations. To be considered for a Special Scholarship, students must meet the sponsor’s criteria and the entry requirements of the National Merit Scholarship Program and submit an entry form to the sponsor organization.  Students in the Special Scholarship program will be notified in the coming weeks of their scholarships.

Posts you may have missed...