School Board Honors Silver Pen Awardees for Outstanding Writing

Last night at the Abington School Board meeting, Dr. Kelly Doyle, Supervisor of Communications Arts, presented the Abington Silver Pen Awards to outstanding student writers at our elementary schools.

Sixth grade teachers nominate narrative writing selections and a building committee at each school scores the entries. The highest scoring papers are selected as the winners.  The students received their engraved “Silver Pen” awards from School Board Vice-President Mrs. Michelle Tinsman and were honored by the School Board last night. In addition, their names will be added to plaques that the Abington Educational Foundation has provided and will be on display at their respective schools.

This year’s winners are –  From Copper Beech Elementary School:  Elijah L. Bisulca, Shiloh Bloom, Audrey Moore, and Tessa Wheelock.  From Highland Elementary School:  Kennedy Karlin and Spence Lowery.  From McKinley Elementary School:  Cindy Fu, Tristan McKeough, Evan Oldham, and Kiersten Rau.  From Overlook Elementary School:  Jayani Giles, Marley Hollister, and Daniel Mesko.  From Roslyn Elementary School:  Natalene Clemson and Jaden Hernandez.  From Rydal Elementary School: Sam Blitchford and Zhara Haidara.  From Willow Hill Elementary School: Mary Miles and Justin Nkrumah.

Dr. Doyle congratulated the parents and families and the students’ teachers and thanked the building committee members and the elementary reading specialists for their work at the building level.  The program is funded, as it has been since its origin, by a generous grant from the Abington Educational Foundation.

Posts you may have missed...